Oh, the Humidity!

The humidity and the heat have officially arrived in Central Florida, and sadly to say, they are here to stay for a long, long vacation.  And it is only Spring, Spring I tell you.  The humidity to me is like that distant relative that comes over for dinner at 8 when they were invited at 7 and then they do not leave until 11.  Meanwhile, you have to have to be up at 5 and every subtle hint you have dropped for them to leave to have not gotten.  With that being said, I have decided that I will definitely have to switch to my second designed training plan for the summer in preparation for the Chicago Marathon.  As I looked at the forecasted weather for the remainder of the year, over the next 140-plus days until the Chicago Marathon, there is not a day in which the temperature is expected to be below 70°.  

So I have not had to completely hit the reset button on  my training, but I have had to move some things around.  Luckily I have had enough time to be able to do so.  While it has left me somewhat frustrated in the beginning, I know that it is the right thing to do.  Hopefully, the upcoming rainy season will not force me to have to reschedule or completely miss too many of my long runs over the summer, but I am looking forward to rebuilding and getting stronger over the next weeks and months as they come at me.

So right now I am looking at running 18km this coming Sunday morning which puts me back under completing a half marathon, but not significantly.  The question now becomes, is the hurdle that I am facing more of a mental hurdle or a physical hurdle.

More to come shortly….

Please help support my 2nd Annual campaign in support of Girls on the Run.  Any donation amount goes to a great cause by supporting scholarships, academic resources, race entries, shoes, water bottles, and much, much more.  If you would like to donate, please click on the link below:

https://www.raceplanner.com/donate/Running-To-Make-Dreams-Come-True

Leave a Reply

