Was It Just a Bad Run?

This week’s long run was a tough one.  It was the culmination of a tough personal week in general and ended with a terrible run.  The weather as well this week was a beast, with high temperatures in the low 90°s with the “real feel” feeling like 98°-99° in the early and late afternoon.  While over the last month the temperature in the morning had been between 63°-66° with around 80% humidity, this past Saturday at 4 AM when I went out for my run it was an astounding 73° with 95% humidity.  It was like wearing two sweatsuits and trying to run my prescribed mileage.  Unfortunately to say, it drained all of the energy from me and I came woefully short of scheduled distance, 14.85 km run when I was planning to do 22km.

This left me with some head scratching and some recalculating to do to get ready for the Chicago Marathon.  Am I being too ambitious?  Does my fueling plan need to be adjusted?  Does my hydration plan need to be changed?  Should I feel disappointed?  Should I feel like a loser?  What is going to happen when the really dog days of summer really hit me in Florida?

In my original plan, I have built in several weeks for having a bad run.  Would there be weeks when I just had a bad run or if there was bad weather that kept me from running.  Now I am looking at redoing the whole plan for the dog days of summer moving in.  I went home and researched the average temperature for the summer and I am expecting it to be in the 70s for the lows with high humidity.  So I have been sitting and contemplating whether or not to restart building my mileage from the distance that I just completed and to build up from there.  Or do I take this week as a hiccup and hope to rebound this week and keep moving forward.  There are obvious pros and cons to doing both.

If I recalculate my plan to restart based on last week’s run I will still put myself in a comfortable zone to be ready for Chicago in October.  I should be hitting between 30-35 km by mid-September.  With the rate of distance and the hopefully prevailing cooler temperatures and much lower humidity of Chicago, I should have gas left in the tank to carry me across the finish line.  And I will still have built in weeks to have the hopefully not to  occasional bad run and still have time to recover.

Not sure which way I am leaning at the moment, but I know that at this point I believe I am giving myself the best chance to successful when October rolls around on the calendar.

Please help support my fundraising efforts for Girls on the Run by clicking on the link below and donating even the smallest amount:

https://www.raceplanner.com/donate/Running-To-Make-Dreams-Come-True

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

