I’m Back…..

Finally, I am coming back to my blog.  It has been too long since I have been gone.  And if I have been gone from my blog this long, you can imagine what my running has been like.  Not nearly as absent as I have been from here, but is has been a definite series of peaks and valleys.  Right now I am preparing for the Peachtree Road Race on July 4th and the longest run I have been able to put in since March has been a 7K run.  And this morning I struggled through a 2 mile run.  I have no idea how I am going to pull this race off other than running on guts and instincts.

So the one recurring theme that has been running through my mind…when did we as a society become so sensitive?  It seemed to me in the 80s and 90s American society was tougher.  If we felt insulted or done wrong, we would give someone the proverbial middle finger and keep on walking.  Now we have become soft and have to feel insulted about every little slight.  We can no longer seem to work under the guise of being able to agree to disagree.  If someone expresses an opinion now we are insulted and have to cry foul.

One of my favorite channels is ESPN.  But heck, even there are certain days that I just cannot watch at all.  There are days where the coverage of one event is just overwhelming.  So what do I do, I turn the channel.  And that is what we need to do as a society.  Grow a thicker skin, learn to take a joke, and quit giving annoying stupid a bigger platform on which to show their wares.

Leave a Reply

