Race Recap and the Future

Well, it has been more than a month since my last post.  And what an exciting and interesting month that it had been, the least of all being that I was finally able to scratch the Georgia Half Marathon off of my bucket list.  But man was it a brutal race for me to finish yet again.

While I should not complain since we were not snowed in like most of the country seemed to be.  Unfortunately, for most of January, February, and March, the temperatures were in the 30s to the 50s.  And I was OK with that, the cooler the temperatures the better for my running.  Then as my typical MO seems to happen, I injured my ankle on an 8 mile run a few weeks before the race.  So I did as much as I could to stay off the ankle, which for me is somewhat a bad thing to do.  I need to run on a regular basis.

Then finally, the weekend of the race comes, and what happens?  The temperatures are in the 70s, yes the 70s.  But I cannot blame my performance on the temps for the day, I know I was not prepared, both mentally and physically.  Physically I was not sure whether the ankle would survive the race, which it did not.  It made it through 6 solid miles before flaring up on me.  Mentally, my mind was focused on everything else but the race.

First, as I started off the race, my music would not play the right playlist.  Somehow, I switched from the playlist that I had organized so for the first mile instead of just running I was fighting with my phone to get ANY music to play.  And then oddly enough my first mile was the fastest mile of the day, which means I truly went out too fast.  Generally miles 2, 3, or 4 will be one of my fastest miles, especially for anything longer than a 10K.

Second, my routine had been recently changed which again seemed to throw off my body’s schedule.  For five months I had been working at the high school level which afforded me three hours in the afternoon to train or run.  Then I took a job at a middle school that left me exhausted at the end of the day to say the least.  And so my mind started racing through all kind of things that really should not have been on my mind at the time.

In the end, I was happy to have completed the race.  And it definitely helped me to put things in perspective.  It is 248 days until Thanksgiving, time for the Atlanta Half Marathon.  A race that I REALLY want to redeem myself in after last year’s disappointment.

Leave a Reply

