Welcome and Happy New Year

Hello and Happy New Year Everyone!

My name is Keith, and this is my first post on this blog. So for this first blog I will tell you a little about myself and my purpose for this blog. I am originally from the South Side of Chicago which makes me a fan of all Chicago sports teams except the Cubs. I graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with a degree in History with a minor in English Literature in 1999. I earned my Master’s Degree in Secondary Education from Grand Canyon University last year and I am certified for Social Studies, Language Arts, and Special Education. I have been married to my beautiful wife for three years and we have a beautiful daughter together.

So hopefully I have not bored you to death with my background and who I am. Now for the first reason that I am writing this blog. I have been a runner for the last five years now. Sometimes I have been good, sometimes I have been. The reason that I writing now is to chronicle my adventures as I prepare to run the 2013 Georgia Half-Marathon on St. Patrick’s Day. This blog will be a place for me to chronicle my training and to keep track of my running and fitness goals. Finishing the Georgia Half will be the first race that is on my half-marathon bucket list. My fitness goal for the year is to drop 25 pounds. My ideal running weight was 235 pounds and for the last year I have been maintaining at 250. Recently I have switched medications and ballooned to 262. Luckily, I will be able to get back to cross-training this year so that should help. Also, I plan on running 750 miles this year which does not sound like a lot of miles, but will require me being consistent in my running and training this year.

The second reason for this blog is to randomly share my opinions, thoughts, likes, hates, and to share any good information that I come across. My discussions will not just center on me, but I will discuss sports, politics, television, music, social issues, just about anything that comes to my mind while running or training.

Leave a Reply

